I AM WRONG ABOUT EVERYTHING

Which is a principle I always live by. If you are able to change your mind when something better or more realistic and logical sounding comes along then you are open minded. That doesn’t mean it’s a good moment to give up everything you think you know. However I find it very beneficial to have some element of doubt in all of my existence. Obviously this allows a lot of mental leeway and a better chance of development as you can learn past a certain plateau.
To be able to achieve this thought process however, you must begin by becoming less egotistical and a lot more humble. Get on your hands and knees and scrub a floor or a toilet or two, it’s good for you. As noted in this piece https://cfsn.wordpress.com/2014/09/30/egotistical-much/ I believe the egos people stroke and lie to themselves to maintain to try stay upbeat about themselves; are a form of neuroses which actually hinders thought. We may or may not be gods or part of gods or children of gods. Yet when you think about it, none of us are omnipotent and until we are perhaps the reality our brilliant minds percieve isn’t a very clear picture of reality.

I think in modern times we misunderstand the basic principles of intelligence and thinking. We know so very much more than we did just a few years ago, yet what we percieve as superior and wise is not always on the money. Case in point is the Timed I.Q. Test. We see speed of mental processes and immediate clever reactions to be the best asset of the human brain. Yet what if you gave the test papers to all those 100 I.Q. people so that they could go home and think about the mental processes and problems needed. Let them research mathematical sequences or numbers and read more books to more accurately figure out the word sequences. If they didn’t cheat and had enough time then I’m sure they would answer at least most of the questions accurately. And then they wouldn’t have to think they’re so much less than other people and give up on the benefit of using their brains.

I’m saying our first reaction is not always the best, however that is what is normally forced from us. In screenwriting the author will rethink a spoken scene’s dialogue many times. The longer we think about something the better our response becomes. Inside me, I run into situations and my mind gives me a first response of how to deal with it. Yet I find if I have the chance, I can stop and study my emotions and think some more. Eventually a second thought comes of a better way to deal with it, then a third and a fourth until I feel confident enough in the answer to answer it with style and maturity, if given time.
I hear Buddhist philosophers don’t even release their work until they’re aged 40. We’re not always right about everything first time, often we are wrong about everything. A little touch of doubt is always positive. If you have a disagreement with someone and delaying a response is possible without you missing your moment to retaliate; then do consider having a few rethinks and waiting for your emotions on the subject to develop to their decisions. You may respond in a better way which wont regret as much. You wouldn’t regret it as much because at least you remember you were trying your best.

Nick.Eliot 02/Feb/2015

Leave a Reply

